dpr

Department of Parks and Recreation
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DPR 2018-19 Indoor Pool Maintenance Closure Schedule

Friday, October 19, 2018

DPR Customer Service: (202) 673-7647
DPR Media Contacts: Michael Tucker Jr., (202) 717-4242, [email protected]

(Washington, DC) –Today, the DC Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) in partnership with DC Department of General Services released the 2018-2019 Winter Indoor Pool Maintenance Closure Schedule.

DPR's indoor, year-round aquatic centers will undergo yearly scheduled preventative maintenance to deep clean the pools and facilities. Pools will temporarily close in phases, beginning on Sunday, November 18, 2018. During each respective closure, all programs, permits, and classes will be suspended at that particular facility.

Dunbar, and Ferebee-Hope Aquatic Center pools will remain open for the duration of this winter's maintenance schedule.

Indoor Pool Closure Schedule

  • Barry Farm Aquatic Center (1230 Sumner Rd. SE | Ward 8) - CLOSED Sunday, November 18 through Sunday, November 25, 2018. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, November 26, 2018.
     
  • Marie Reed Aquatic Center (2200 Champlain Street, NW | Ward 1) - CLOSED Monday, November 26 through Sunday, December 2, 2018. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, December 3, 2018.
     
  • Deanwood Aquatic Center (1350 - 49th St., NE | Ward 7) CLOSED Sunday, December 9 through Saturday, December 22, 2018. The facility is expected to re-open on Sunday, December 23, 2018.
     
  • HD Woodson Aquatic Center (540 55th Street, NE | Ward 7) - CLOSED Sunday, December 23 through Monday, December 31, 2018. The facility is expected to re-open on Wednesday, January 2, 2019.
     
  • Wilson Aquatic Center (4551 Fort Dr., NW | Ward 3) - CLOSED Sunday, January 6 through Sunday, January 13, 2019. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, January 14, 2019.
     
  • Takoma Aquatic Center (300 Van Buren St., NW | Ward 4) - CLOSED Monday, January 14 through Sunday, January 27, 2019. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, January 28, 2019.
     
  • William H. Rumsey Aquatic Center (635 North Carolina Ave., SE | Ward 6) - CLOSED Monday, January 28 through Sunday, February 17, 2019. The facility is expected to re-open on Tuesday, February 19, 2019.
     
  • Turkey Thicket Aquatic Center (1100 Michigan Ave., NE | Ward 5) - CLOSED Sunday, February 17 through Sunday, March 3, 2019. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, March 4, 2019.
     
  • Therapeutic Aquatic Center (540 55th Street, NE | Ward 7) - CLOSED Sunday, March 10 through Sunday, March 17, 2019. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, March 18, 2019.

Please note that re-open dates may be subject to change, should any unforeseen maintenance issues occur. Patrons will be notified if a facility's re-open date will be delayed.

Please contact the Aquatics Division (202) 671-1289 if you have any questions or require further assistance.

###

About DPR

The DC Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) provides quality urban recreation and leisure services for residents and visitors to the District of Columbia. DPR supervises and maintains area parks, community facilities, swimming pools and spray parks, and neighborhood recreation centers. The agency also coordinates a wide variety of recreation and educational programs including sports leagues, youth development, therapeutic recreation, aquatic programming, outdoor adventure, camping, and senior citizen activities. Adaptive programs and facilities are available for persons with disabilities.