dpr

Department of Parks and Recreation
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DPR Announces 2020 Summer Camp Registration

Monday, February 24, 2020

DPR Media Contact: Michael Tucker Jr., (202) 717-4242, [email protected]

 

(WASHINGTON, DC) – The Bowser Administration, led by the DC Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR), announced registration for 2020 summer camp season will begin on Monday, February 24, 2020 at 12 p.m. with a rolling registration, in which a limited number of programs will open each day over a one-week period. Following rolling registration, DPR summer camps remain open until full capacity is reached and/or the first day of the summer camp session.

“DPR has been hard at work preparing for the summer season,” said DPR Director Delano Hunter. “We continue to expand camp offerings including adding exciting new options like Culinary Camp for emerging young chefs. There is always a lot of excitement around registration opening for our summer camps and we expect that to be the same this year. Additionally, our ongoing partnership with DC Public Schools’ allows us to create over 1000 additional slots for our most sought after camps.”


DPR provides a wide variety of summer camp experiences for youth ages 3–17 and has been doing so for more than 30 years. On average, over 3,000 children participate in DPR’s camps each summer. The 2020 summer camp season takes place June 24 – August 21, 2020. Most camps are offered 9 a.m.-5 p.m. each day, but hours vary by program.


2020 Summer Camp Dates:

Session I: Wednesday, June 24 - Thursday, July 2, 2020 (Holiday Observed Friday, July 3)

Session II: Monday, July 6 - Friday, July 17, 2020

Session III: Monday, July 20 - Friday, July 31, 2020

Session IV: Monday, August 3 - Friday, August 14, 2020

Session V: Monday, August 17 - Friday, August 21, 2020 (one week)

DPR’s rolling registration runs Monday, February 24, 2020 – Friday, February 28, 2020 and will open each day at 12 PM for DC residents only.

 

Rolling Registration Schedule:

Monday, February 24: REC Camp (ages 6-13); Jelleff Summer Camp (ages 6-12); Therapeutic Recreation Camps

Tuesday, February 25: Discovery Camp (ages 6-10)

Wednesday, February 26: Little Explorers Camp (ages 3-5)

Thursday, February 27: Aqua Day Camp (ages 6-13); Sports Camps (ages 5-13) {Cheer, Multi-Sport, Basketball, Soccer, Boxing, Kickball}

Friday, February 28: Enrichment Camp (ages 3-12); Specialty Camps (ages 4-13) {Ballet, Verano, Little Engineers, PlayDC, Summer Engineers, Culinary}


Before and after care is offered at an additional charge. Before and after care registration will open on Monday, March 23, 2020, at 12 p.m.

DPR also offers Reduced Rates for 2020 Summer Camps for those eligible available now.

Customers MUST log on or create an account in RecTrac to register. Non-DC residents can begin registering for DPR camps on Monday, March 23.

For more information about summer camp 2020 season, registration, and waitlist, please visit our website https://dpr.dc.gov/service/summer-camps or contact the DPR Summer Camp registration office at (202) 673-3237 or [email protected]

 

###

Social Media:

DPR Twitter: @DCDPR

DPR Instagram: @DCDPR  

DPR Facebook: facebook.com/DCDPR

DPR Website: dpr.dc.gov

 

 Join our Mailing ListSign up for Text/Email Alerts, or Register for a Program